How Not To Look Daft When You’re Old

These don't look good at any age.

These don’t look good at any age.

I mentioned in my ‘Woe Is Me’ post some of the items of clothing that I refuse to wear. When it comes down to it you don’t want to be ‘that person’. What person am I talking about? You’ll know them when you see them! For example, I went to Ozzfest one year (long story) and there was an older man, around my age, who was walking around wearing Tripp pants. You know the ones, wide legs, chains all over them. They just looked odd on somebody his age. Well, they quite frankly look odd on just about everybody but that’s not the point. Yes, you should be able to wear what you want at any age, but sometimes those choices aren’t the ‘right’ choices. Now, I’m not going to be telling you exactly what to wear, because I don’t know your personality or your exact style. If you don’t like what I have to say on the subject that’s fine, I’m an adult I can take criticism. However, don’t tell me I’m wrong just because my opinion is different from yours. Thanks in advance.

A lot of people have written about this subject but the majority of them have been younger than me. I find it odd when people younger than me try to tell me how I should dress. Yes, I’ll follow the fashion advice of some twenty year old living in a college dorm who thinks that Marilyn Manson invented the Goth subculture! That was sarcasm, by the way. If you are in your twenties, or even your thirties for that matter, just sit back and be quiet on the subject. Especially when you think that arm warmers are acceptable things to wear. I almost shuddered writing that.

You should automatically know what doesn’t and what does look good on you as you get older. Is that spiked collar that you wore twenty years ago not looking too good on you right now? There is a reason, it’s because you aren’t young any longer. Yes, it sucks that we have to get older and change the style of clothes that we wear, but it happens to each and every one of us. You aren’t all alone in the world striving for your individuality against all the odds! Did I just burst a bubble or two writing that? I certainly hope so!

About ten years ago I got rid of about 90% of my wardrobe? Why would I do such a crazy thing as that? For one I wasn’t going to clubs any longer and had nowhere to wear the clothes that I had collected over the years. Think about it, there is no point in keeping clothes when you have no place to wear them to. Yes, you can go around town wearing long net skirts and corsets, but you’d look a little over dressed. That may be fine for you, but that’s a tad too over the top for my tastes. Very, very rarely do people look good dressing like that every single day no matter where they go. I’ve never seen one in real life but I’m told they exist.

When I moved here the only items of clothing that I still had from my ubergoth past were my velvet coats, which I will NEVER get rid of no matter what. A nice velvet coat is hard to find damn it! Before I go on I would like to point out that I have gone through certain cycles of appearing ‘Goth’. Some years I care more about how I dress than others. I’m always the same on the inside but on the outside I can be a lazy wench. Lately though I have felt like dressing a bit better, hence the rebuilding of my wardrobe. Since I have been in that process for quite a few months now I have been very easily been able to pick out the things that I know will look good on me.

Things I have avoided:

Spikes – Hell no. There has been a lot of clothing lately sold in shops that is mass produced that have spikes on them. At this point in history I think it’s crass to wear them.

Ripped Fishnets – If I wore them these days I would just look like a drunk woman who has fallen down some steps and ripped her tights.

Corsets – Granted I used to look damn good wearing them, but I can’t imagine going to M&S in the morning wearing one.

Mass produced ‘Goth’ clothing – I only have four items of clothing that fall into this category and since I don’t wear them with one another that’s okay. If your entire wardrobe consists of this it shows not only a lack of an imagination it also shows that you like to waste your money, because most of them look like cheaply made crap.

Where do I get my clothing? Half of my clothing comes from charity(thrift) shops and the other half comes from ‘normal’ high street shops. I always see kids online whining about how they don’t like regular shops because they aren’t ‘Goth’. Oh, get over it already. I have found some very cool pieces at New Look for very cheap. For instance I found a red, black and white plaid dress there for only 4 quid the other week. I’d much rather save some money and get something like that then spend ten times as much on something similar just because it’s a ‘Goth’ brand. The main charity shop where I live always has dark pieces of clothing there, and quite often they are of very good quality. Since some very rich people live here they will donate a skirt that original costs $300.00 and I’ll get it for five. I don’t care if it’s by a designer, but the fact that it’s sewn very well makes me happy. That means I won’t have to fix it any time soon!

Now I realize that what doesn’t work on me may work on you, or vice versa. For example, I wear horror and sci-fi t-shits sometimes. People may call that being lazy but I am a huge film nerd and can actually talk at some length about the film whose shirt I’m wearing. My husband and I don’t drive because this is Europe and you can actually walk to get to the store instead of having to drive 5 miles. Since that is the case wearing a t-shirt, jeans and boots makes a bunch more sense when we go for a long walk than wearing a long skirt and heels. Id rather be sensible that be in pain for a week.

So when it comes down to it you should automatically know what looks good on you as you reach middle age. Don’t hem and haw about it, only YOU know what looks good on you. You don’t need a twenty year old telling you how to dress and you certainly don’t need me. However, I’m really awesome,etc…

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Couldn’t agree more about the mass produced goth clothing, it always looks so cheap. I do wonder why people wear it. Maybe the branding helps them with their style insecurities?

    Really enjoyed this post.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

